Former Apostolic Nuncio to the UK appointed Cardinal

The former Apostolic Nuncio to the Court of St James, Archbishop Claudio Gugerotti, and the Latin Patriarch of Jerusalem, Archbishop Pierbattista Pizzabella, and Archbishop Archbishop Grzegorz Rys, Archbishop of Łódź in Poland are among the new cardinals announced at the Holy Father’s Angelus address in St Peter's Square on 9th July 2023.  

Archbishop Gugerotti came to Aylesford Priory in October 2022 during a visit of St Bernadette’s Relics, and visited many sites in the Archdiocese, including Dover Port and Napier Barracks during his two-year tenure as Apostolic Nuncio to Great Britain,

Pope Francis also named three non-electors to the Sacred College of Cardinals, recognising their long service to the Church.  The new cardinals will receive their red birettas in a Vatican consistory on 30 September 2023.

Announcing these appointments, the Holy Father asked the faithful to pray for the new Cardinals, that "they might help me in my ministry as Bishop of Rome for the good of the entire Holy People faithful to God.”

The Archdiocese of Southwark offers its heartfelt congratulations to Cardinal Gugerotti and to all those recently appointed Cardinal by Pope Francis.  

New Cardinals (electors)

Archbishop Ángel Sixto Rossi SJ Archbishop of Córdoba
Archbishop Christophe Louis Yves Georges Pierre Diplomatic Corps
Archbishop Claudio Gugerotti Prefect of the Dicastery for Eastern Churches
Archbishop Emil Paul Tscherrig Diplomatic Corps
Archbishop Grzegorz Ryś Archbishop of Łódź
Archbishop José Cobo Cano Archbishop of Madrid
Archbishop Luis José Rueda Aparacio Archbishop of Bogotá
Archbishop Pierbattista Pizzaballa Latin Patriarch of Jerusalem
Archbishop Protase Rugambwa Coadjutor Archbishop of Tabora
Archbishop Robert Francis Prevost OSA Prefect of the Dicastery for Bishops
Archbishop Stephen Ameyu Martin Mulla Archbishop of Juba
Archbishop Stephen Brislin Archbishop of Capetown
Archbishop Víctor Manuel Fernández Prefect of the Dicastery for the Doctrine of the Faith
Bishop Américo Manuel Alves Aguiar Auxiliary Bishop of Lisbon
Bishop François-Xavier Bustillo OFM Conv Bishop of Ajaccio
Bishop Sebastian Francis Bishop of Penang
Bishop Stephen Chow SJ Bishop of Hong Kong
Father Ángel Fernández Artime SDB Rector Major of the Salesians


New Cardinals (non-electors)

Archbishop Agostino Marchetto Diplomatic Corps
Archbishop Diego Rafael Padrón Sánchez Archbishop Emeritus of Cumaná
Father Luis Pascual Dri OFM Cap Confessor of the Shrine of Our Lady of Pompei, Buenos Aires